Dude, where’s my camera?

This morning, I’m happy to post the first contribution by a guest writer on this blog. She previously blogged under the name “Chamique”. Her post is a follow-up to a number of discussions we had about this whole uploading, tagging, de-tagging pictures business on Facebook. This includes not only the obvious issue of self-promotion and reputation management. The real concern is about this obsession of having to document one’s life, every second of it – as if things didn’t happen unless you see them in some Facebook album. Thanks, “Chamique”, for this post!

Create Album

Of late, we’ve been discussing this sudden and constant need to document everything we experience and see. To make others believe we were there. Or maybe to make ourselves believe it sometimes. Was I really lounging around on a beach somewhere just a few weeks ago? My tan and memories might be fading, but all the photographs say yes, this did indeed happen.
I’ve always considered myself to be someone who writes to remember. I’ll make to-do lists just so the list stays in my head. I remember my handwriting on Post Its and journals and lecture notes. I guess my memory is visual. Does that mean my photograph taking is meaningless, given that I’ve already seen what I’m capturing on the lens?

On a recent trip to Oxford, I whipped out my camera and took several pictures of the owner of this ‘blog just because I knew it would piss him off. (I’m controversial like that.) The results were so ridiculous – even by my flimsy standards – that those pictures will remain relegated to a lowly subfolder somewhere on my computer. But I know I can still get a giggle out of looking at them in the near or distant future. If ever I choose to do so. The point is – I am comforted that I have large portions of my life in pictures. Like somehow this knowledge lets me clear up more brain space for all the new things I must learn over the course of my life.

Can I claim copyright over my crazy night?

The better part of my Sunday morning last weekend was spent in the frantic un-tagging of some *ahem* unflattering photographs of myself on Facebook. While I’m unapologetic about the clothes I wear and faces I make at a camera when it’s pointed at me, I do take into consideration that the 600 people that are called ‘friends’ of mine include those whom I do not particularly want to share my momentary lapses of reason with. It must also be pointed out that I seem to have far too much faith in my friends and their taste(lessness). It appears that not many of them are as discerning as my gentle self whilst uploading photographs to the internets. My grandchildren would be horrified. (It ruins the glamourous image I’m trying to build up for myself over the years, you see.)

Then again, all I have of my own grandparents is a selection of elegant black and whites. I haven’t ever seen them sticking out a cheeky tongue during a group photo. Did previous generations live their lives less fully than us now?
At home, we have a charcoal sketch of my grandmother, which guests are quick to comment on. Where’s that from, they’ll ask. And there’s the romantic story of how Ruiz Pipo, a young Parisian artist, approached my stunning grandmother and asked if he might sketch her, right there, on a paper napkin at the café, circa 1954.

Facebook Tag

Cut to Paris, 2009. I, instead, have an album of a hundred or so digital photographs of me making a fool of myself in front of the several places of interest. Have we become so accustomed to the abundance of cameras and recording devices that we allow ourselves to be at ease or even careless when accosted by a lens? Are photographs not sacred anymore?

Things become even more complicated if we entertain stuffy respectable ambitions for ourselves as professionals. The aspiring political candidate can’t be seen sleeping on the sidewalk with her head next to a trash can. (The quirky artist, however, causes no scandal when carelessly displaying a profile pic of himself rolling a spliff.) So many people are quick to restrict viewing of their personal photographs and weblogs, pre-empting controversies at the workplace or amongst family. Are we no longer expected to let our guard down – ever? Or does it mean that we must all acknowledge how public our social, professional and personal lives have now become? Foucault would have had a field day with the panoptic discipline we’re exercising. We’re self-censoring like never before whilst simultaneously being led to believe that we have every freedom of expression.

Depth of field

There have been so many times that I wish I had my camera, afraid that I might forget what was in front of me. But strangely, those moments are the ones that stay with me longest.

If a picture tells a thousand words, personal memories make photographs seem like Shakespeare on acid.

The pictures might show me sitting under a watermelon pink sunset, but it doesn’t tell you how tart and minty my cold mojito was that evening. They might show a group of us at our high school graduation, but it won’t show the purple hickey I was hiding under my sari. My parents don’t know that the boyfriend they hated so much was the one making me smile when he took the picture of me that’s framed in their bedroom. You can’t smell the grass from my pictures in the park.

I think my relationship with photographs is becoming increasingly distant. They’ve come to represent a moment, but not the experience of it. Pictures trigger memories and anecdotes. Like my grandmother’s portrait. Maybe not quite as graceful, but nonetheless real. Like the music that was playing at the time you looked into the camera, that nobody heard but you.

4 responses to “Dude, where’s my camera?

  1. Your post made me think that maybe we’re going through the commodification of our own images. There are just so many of them that they’ve become banal, whereas before pictures were really taken only on special moments, and their scarcity made them more valuable. I think the digital camera changed that and online sharing just added to the photo taking frenzy.

    Still, I think this simultaneously adds to and lessens the importance of photography. It diminishes its value when it’s thoughtless, but I think it makes thoughtful photography even more rare and therefore more valuable.

    In any case, I completely agree with you that sometimes it’s the moments when there is no camera present which stay with you the longest, and that the experiences brought about by our other senses, those which we can’t re-create (yet) make it all the more memorable (I for one, remember our Michael Jackson impromptu session way more than anything else a few days ago, even though there are no pictures to show our karaoke skills).

  2. Interesting post. I agree, with both points of view, though I think for many moments I’d rather have the pictures than not. We have so many social events happening in our lives (from travelling, to work events, to standard everyday meetings), that I like the idea of having them captured in digital celluloid, as a memory aid if anything. That said, there is perhaps only so many times you can be photographed pulling yet another “blue steel” pout pose in a dirty London club. There’s a lot to be said for editorial judgement (aka, only put the best, and most varied stuff up to see).

    So, I like the fact that I can capture as much of my life as I choose to (or let others do it for me), and by doing so I reckon I probably increase my chances of capturing really special moments (most likely when I’m not aware of the camera) to enjoy in the future.

  3. Nice post. I do and don’t agree with a point. I think the problem of a digital photography as documentation of every day life is (possibility of) the lost of responsibility :), I mean, responsibility for the photo (what, why and how are you shooting and where are you going to show it). I remember when my family had simple cameras for shooting on film – every picture were taken carefully. But I do not agree that this counts to all of photography (even all of digital photography) these days. Just “really good” photography (who knows what it is 🙂 ) has to find some new forms of expression today.

  4. Pingback: Herrhorn « lil she makes a mess

Leave a comment